princess

Since I was a little girl, I always wanted to be a princess.

I wanted to wear my princess dresses and plastic tiara at all times. I watched every Barbie movie, every Disney princess movie, anything that appealed to my feminine, elegant disposition that I had already obtained by age 4.

There was never a tomboy faze for me.I liked the outside, but I could manage to turn  just about anything into a princess game in my imagination no matter what.

As I grew, I tucked away my sparkly dresses and pretend crowns; I packed up my beautiful Barbies dressed for the ball, but I could never completely suppress my desire to be that elegant, royal beauty called a princess.

Over the years, I sought after that same desire loveliness through pretty ballet tutus and costumes, pageant dresses, pointe shoes, make up, prom dresses, and just an all-around girlieness.

Through all of this, the bright eyed, blonde little girl with pigtails and blissful position nudged me that there was still something more she wanted, that she still didn’t feel like a princess quite yet.

That was when I realized that what I had been searching for was not loveliness of my own but the loveliness of my Creator. Loveliness that made me sit in awe, perfect beauty and perfect love.

I hadn’t desired to be a princess as a child for the prettiness and frilliness; what I truly desired was to be a daughter of the most powerful and beloved King.

The part of royalty I couldn’t achieve in my own earthly world was the part that only His love could satisfy. I thought I wanted to be seen as altogether lovely, but what I wanted was to experience the altogether lovely.

To say you are loved is an understatement. We, as daughters of the Most High, are adored by Him. You are worth loving and fighting for and waiting for no matter what anyone has told you, whether through words or through actions. You are adored, beloved, treasured, pursued, prized, and loved. Loved. Loved. Loved. You are so, so loved.

Loved by the most Beautiful One, the One you have desired for so long.

One Comment

  1. Amen!!! Good one.. and I guess that’s why we all have that royalty-complex in each of us, no matter how small it is.. we have that longing because we were made for that, through Jesus, we are now co-heirs (or heiress) with Him! 😊 God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

