Why I Love the Word Fearless

fearless

Disclaimer: I’m obsessed with the word fearless.

Taylor Swift (every girl’s best friend) puts it so well:

“Fearless is not the absence of fear. It’s not being completely unafraid. To me, fearless is having fears. Fearless is having doubts. Lots of them. To me, fearless is living in spite of those things that scare you to death.

People always ask me why I love the word fearless. I love the word fearless because that one word is everything I can’t be on my own but everything that Jesus offered me through freedom.

fearless, Taylor Swift, and love image

I’m not talking about reckless. I’m not talking about irresponsible and foolish. I’m talking about fearlessI’m talking about the freedom from fear, freedom that my Savior gave me on the cross.

I struggle with timidity and shyness more than I like to admit, but I know you can’t grow without going to the uncomfortable places, doing the scary things, and letting Jesus be your strength.

To do that you have to face your fears, you have to “live in spite of” them.

“A fearless woman does not frantically fret about the future. She laughs, loves, and hopes in her God.” -John Piper

Lord,  Help me be fearless in my hope. Help me not be fearful of life but bold and rooted in the love You displayed on the cross.

The disciples were so fearless, and I think we’re called to be fearless as disciples too.

I hope I’m fearless when life is scary, which can be plenty of the time. I hope I’m fearless when it’s hard. I hope I’m fearless when it’s controversial, when it’s disdained, I hope I live in fearless abandon for the One who died for me.

I hope I’m fearless enough to give every part of my life back over to Him because I know it was never really my life to begin with, and to dedicate the entire life He has given me to being a disciple.

Fearless Women – John Piper

I hope I’m like Esther, Ruth, and Mary, that I always give every part of me over to Him.

Acts 4:29 And now, Lord, listen to their threats, and enable Thy servants to proclaim Thy Message with fearless courage.

Ephesians 6:19 and ask on my behalf that words may be given to me so that, outspoken and fearless, I may make known the truths.

I hope I’m fearless when I spread the Gospel; secure in the truth that my God will provide for me all that I need, that He will sustain me, and that He will always be enough.

z

Leave a Reply

