dear college freshman girl,

dear college freshman girl,

Whoa.

take a look around you, pretty girl.

largek

You made it. You’re here.

Wherever you are, whatever campus; take a minute and breathe it in. You’re in for such an adventure. Get ready, girl, it’s gonna be scary, but it’s gonna be great. You’re done with high school and done with the past. You made it.

You’re all unpacked. I bet your dorm is so cute. I bet you’re so excited. I hope you’re excited, and I hope your dorm becomes a home. I hope you fill your walls with memories and you plaster all the new memories you’ll make this year on your wall too. I hope your heart sighs with relief when you plop onto your little twin bed with those cute pillows you bought from Target or TJ Maxx. I hope your dorm room becomes your home.

home, inspiration, and lights image

luckydayblog: “socialitestudio: “ my dorm room ” ”:

I pray that your roommate becomes your sister. I pray you laugh together, study together, keep each other from studying sometimes, I pray you cry together when college gets tough.

Because it will. It will get tough; people will change. Boys who are supposed to be men by now may hurt you, but know that Jesus is here to protect you and comfort you. I pray your roommate is there for you too.

I pray your roommate becomes your sister.

Know that it’s gonna be tough, but Jesus is gonna help you be tougher. He will humble you and you’ll have to lean on Him, but that’s how you’ll make it through.

He will provide; He always does.

Philippians 4:19

I pray you find community that loves you exactly the way you are and loves you enough to help you become an even more spectacular woman. I pray you always remember the best is yet to come.

I pray you find community.

15 Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ, 16 from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love.

Ephesians 4:15-16

I pray that if you loved dancing or singing or any sport or anything that gave you joy in high school, that you’re able to continue it. I pray that you remember it’s a gift from the Lord and I pray that you glorify Him through it.

I pray you find your calling, what you know beyond of a shadow of doubt that the Lord wants you to do, what you will be able to lead His people back to Him through, what you feel closest to Him doing. And I pray that even if you don’t know what that is yet, that you keep your heart hopeful and open because you know He has an incredible plan that you get to be a part of.

dac390f6c996e85ffe5c5d8602c14da3

tumblr_mi0i1bdYkd1rt1tfwo1_500

I pray you make the best memories. I pray Jesus helps you be brave. Be brave, sweet girl. Go to the ocean at midnight with your friends, go swing dance, go to all those games even if you have no idea how many points a goal gets or what any of the things the announcers are saying means.

Go make memories, and thank our wonderful God for them.

Daughter of God, I’m so proud of you for getting this far, you’re gonna move mountains. Go out there and glorify your King.

71ec52029171b55fe9648e1c968cbed4

Your sister,

Jessie

Leave a Reply

