to the girl who feels used

to the girl who feels used,

And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart. Ezekiel 36:26

tumblr_nq803uZX9O1tk1u37o1_500

to the girl who feels taken advantage of,

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. 2 Corinthians 5:17

to the woman who feels taken for granted,

“And I will give them one heart, and put a new spirit within them And I will take the heart of stone out of their flesh and give them a heart of flesh” Ezekiel 11:19

for the woman who feels stupid,

quote, brave, and significant image

“be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfectRomans 12:2

hope, quote, and words image

 

I wrote this for the daughter of God who thinks she should have seen it coming:

 

I gave him a part of my heart that September afternoon,

The part that saw his shattered soul and offered him the moon.

His blonde hair was like sunshine, but his heart was scared of light.

Like a child afraid of the dark, except that he found comfort in the night.

His eyes were crystal blue, the clearest I’d ever seen;

The words that came from his lips shone with a splendid sheen.

I was 3 days from seventeen when I had my first kiss;

I was 3 days from seventeen when my name was added to his list,

His list of girls with long blonde hair who always looked for someone’s good,

His list of girls who didn’t run when instinct told them that they should.

I was 2 days from seventeen when the boy told me the truth,

When my heart fell to my feet after flying through the roof.

I was 2 days from seventeen when I watched my heart crumple off my sleeve,

I was 2 days from seventeen when he explained why he had to leave.

He brushed aside my long blonde hair, saying he had to go,

I couldn’t brush aside my intuition, telling me, “I told you so.”

Courage pushed past Intuition, she said, “Let me tell you this:

He cannot take me from you; all he has is your first kiss.”

Strength took her and me by the hand, and pulled me promptly along,

Picked up the crumpled heart on the ground, and started to whistle a song.

Strength and Courage found some thread and got to work on my sleeve,

A few patches here, and a few stitches there, a new heart they did weave.

It was then that I learned that after a heart breaks, a new heart can appear,

When you patch yourself back together, leave the past, and live in the  h  e  r  e.

tumblr_nkwpvy69K81shcqiqo1_500

amazing, beautiful, and inspiring image

 “And when you’re fifteen, don’t forget to look before you fall;
I’ve found time can heal most anything,
And you just might find who you’re supposed to be.”Fifteen by Taylor Swift

“I am not the same; I’m a new creation; I am not the same anymore.” – Seventh Day Slumber

quote, beginning, and life image

Then the One seated on the throne said, “Look! I am making everything new.” Revelation 21:5

Have courage, dear daughter of God, your Savior has given you a dignity no one can ever take away. Your God has given you a new heart. Have courage, daughter of God, you have a new heart.

Your sister,

Jessie

One thought on “to the girl who feels used

Leave a Reply

