In Oceans Deep

preface: On July 10th, I left for the mission trip I had been waiting for since 2013. A huge thank you to everyone who supported me financially and spiritually. I wouldn’t have been brave enough to accept this calling or equipped enough to embark on this trip to the DR without each prayer and donation. Thank you so so much to everyone who helped make this happen.

 

And I will call upon Your name, and keep my eyes above the waves

When oceans rise, my soul will rest in Your embrace

For I am Yours and You are mine.

 

July 15th, 2016

I’m looking out at this unbelievably blue water. It’s light blue close to the shore, and it gets darker the further out it reaches,

and this probably sounds crazy, but I feel like that’s how a lot of things seem now.

Beautifully light here in the DR, where people give you the only thing they own, where people overflow with joy,

darker the further we get from here.

Darker in the first world where we have so much that we have to store things away, and I’m really starting to question what on earth we need all that stuff for.

Then I read this:

Mark 10:17-31

The Rich Man

17 As Jesus was starting out on his way to Jerusalem, a man came running up to him, knelt down, and asked, “Good Teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?”

18 “Why do you call me good?” Jesus asked. “Only God is truly good. 19 But to answer your question, you know the commandments: ‘You must not murder. You must not commit adultery. You must not steal. You must not testify falsely. You must not cheat anyone. Honor your father and mother.’[a]

20 “Teacher,” the man replied, “I’ve obeyed all these commandments since I was young.”

21 Looking at the man, Jesus felt genuine love for him. “There is still one thing you haven’t done,” he told him. “Go and sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

22 At this the man’s face fell, and he went away sad, for he had many possessions.

23 Jesus looked around and said to his disciples, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the Kingdom of God!” 24 This amazed them. But Jesus said again, “Dear children, it is very hard[b] to enter the Kingdom of God. 25 In fact, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of God!”

26 The disciples were astounded. “Then who in the world can be saved?” they asked.

27 Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But not with God. Everything is possible with God.”

In oceans deep, my faith will stand.

And I am filled with hope.

I am filled with hope because I know even where it seems so dark, God is a radiant light. God can shine through the cracked hearts I’ve seen in dark places. God can rid us of all our things and baggage that weigh us down.

God can give us the joy these wonderful people of the bateys have as long as we drop the worthless things of this world to the ground and open up our beautifully emptied hands to Him.

Leave a Reply

