Your Second Decade

 

I hope you know what’s real. I hope you know what’s not.

I hope each day you can accept that things aren’t quite as you thought,

That degrees are merely paper, but what you learned is worth the frame.

That kindness and humility are better than everyone else knowing your name.

It’s easy to forget in the whirlwind of your second decade,

That you don’t have to always stay a slave to being nervous and afraid.

People will push you the way of this, then they’ll push you the way of that,

But I hope you can stand on your own two feet without needing a pat on the back.

I hope you don’t look for security in people who have none of their own,

And I pray you don’t beg for perfect love from hardened hearts of stone.

I pray you’ll know who made you. I pray you’ll know the love of His heart,

And I pray you let it transform you even if you have to go back to the start.

 

 

Leave a Reply

